Technological University Dublin

Dublin, Ireland

Technological University Dublin or TU Dublin is Ireland’s first technological university, established on 1 January 2019, and with a history stretching back to 1887 through the amalgamated Dublin Institute of Technology which progressed from the first technical education institution in Ireland, the City of Dublin Technical Schools. It is the second-largest third-level institution in Ireland, with a student population of 28,500.

The university was formed by the amalgamation of three existing institutes of technology in the Dublin area – Dublin Institute of Technology, Institute of Technology, Blanchardstown, and Institute of Technology, Tallaght, taking over all functions and operations of these institutions. It is the eighth university in Ireland and the fourth in County Dublin. The university asserts an entrepreneurial ethos and industry-focused approach, with extensive collaboration with the industry for research and teaching.

The flagship campus is located within Grangegorman, Dublin, with two other long-term campuses, in Tallaght and Blanchardstown, and remaining legacy sites at Bolton Street and Aungier Street. TU Dublin has approximately 3,500 staff. Professor David FitzPatrick is the inaugural president, a role in which he currently serves.

  • Language of Delivery: English
  • Level: Master’s Degree
  • Award: Master of Science (MSc) – NFQ Level 9
  • Duration: 1 year (FT) / 2 years (PT)
  • Course Type: Postgraduate
  • Mode of Study: Postgraduate

Application is now open for the September 2023 intake!

  • Credits: 90 ECTS
  • Pre-requisites for Enrollment: Honours Bachelor’s Degree or equivalent in computing or a cognate area.

Start of the Programme

September 2023

University Location

Blessington Rd, Tallaght, Dublin 24


Finbarr Feeney

Head of Computing Department

Claim your interest in the program to the university, or ask your questions using the form below.


Skip to content